Roses are Red, Violets are Blue, and Daisey is a Lair.


After about half of This American life, I really was not a fan of Mike Daisey. I certainly did believe most of the things that he said but the way in which he presented his material bugged me. The way he slows his voice down and becomes very emotional gives off the impression that either he might have been stretching the truth or he is just a little weird. As sadistic as it may sound, I smiled a little when I heard that Mike Daisey’s reporting were not factual. I do not appreciate the extent at which he lied, how he came up with new information and hid other information. A lot of his words actually inspired me to research more about Foxconn, potentially do some type of paper, or even at one point or another take a trip to Shenzhen. However, now I am not nearly as inclined.

I do still see some value in Mike Daisey’s mission. In my opinion, Daisey’s intentions were not to harm Apple or any other large tech company using sweatshops in Shenzhen. He was rather trying to educate people about the harsh conditions that workers face overseas. The reporter at the end of the “Retraction” agrees that working conditions there are not adequate and I believe that this is what Mike Daisey wanted bring to our attention. Daisey wanted to impact his audience enough to take a closer look at Foxconn, and in my case it absolutely did. And for that, I applaud Daisey. He saw a place that was facing cruelty and he wanted to expose it. Who is to blame Daisey for caring so much as to risk his validity as a journalist and lie to get peoples attention fixed on something that is actually important. Is he the first person to ever exaggerate in an attempt to get someones attention, simply no.

I will agree with a few of the blog posts that I have read already in saying “why does it really matter.” It really doesn’t matter all that much. Like I said earlier, I believe Mike Daisy’s intentions were good and he only meant to help people who he felt were suffering from poor work conditions. People should look into creating a better work environment for workers at Foxconn and other large sweatshops. I believe Apple should be more strict with their working policies and their enforcement of those policies, as should other large tech companies. Obviously, there are two sides to this story and it is too bad that Mike Daisey is being interrogated for trying to help others.

4 thoughts on “Roses are Red, Violets are Blue, and Daisey is a Lair.

  1. I’ll be honest, I agree with you that something about Mike Daisey’s story seemed fishy at first. The way he used his voice made me feel like he was trying to seduce me to believe some sort of lie, which much of it turned out to be. I didn’t fully realize this as I listened the first time and hindsight is 20/20, but it makes a lot of sense now that what he created was more of a story than a piece of journalism. It was more of a well thought out sales pitch than a documentary style story. I also agree that his intentions were good in all of this. I wish he had just told the whole truth because I think he would have achieved more in the long run without this scandal.

    Like

  2. I find it interesting that you addressed both sides of the argument: does it really matter or should we hold Daisey accountable for his actions? I was honestly shocked by the amount of information fabricated in his monologue, but it didn’t take away from his underlying message of his speech: Foxconn has thousands of employees working under harsh and hazardous working conditions. We also note that Ira Glass’ “credible” source Kathy (Daisey’s interpreter) was questioned a whole two years after Mike’s visit. How many people can truly recount every incident two years prior?Lastly, I also agree with Spencer’s comment, in that his intentions were good, but the execution was flawed from the beginning.

    Like

  3. Yeah, I feel like he lost a lot of credibility due to what he came up with. To be honest, I think he would have been better off if he just fessed up to his lying too. His intensions were good but his intensions few out the window when he became a liar. I would have had more respect for his entire operation if he just admitted to exactly what he lied about because now I do not know what to believe.

    Like

  4. It seems that many of our blogs involve the struggle between teleological ethics and deontological ethics. Even more specifically, people have problems with Daisey’s deontological ethics or the means by which he achieved his fame in theater. If his final outcome what good, then why are we so concerned with his means to that good end? I agree that his means were unethical, but these are important questions to ask.

    Like

Leave a Reply

